Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Year End One-man Scramble Event and Banquet

Click to hear Jack
First of all, the officers would like to apologize for some communication mix-up with getting some grub for the event. We, in the past, had collected some additional monies to cover food. There was discussion at our September meeting, which you all are always invited to attend, that we decided to allow everyone to decide to order something from the grill, if you desired. We (the Officers) did not communicate this clearly. Lessons learned.

On to the One-man scramble plus team event results… Team Event winners Kapp, Jaeger, Zwirlein, Nowotny. Gross winner: Mike O’Neil Net winner: Bob Breul See details from event. Flag event winners included: O’Neil #7 & #12; Johnson #10 & Cuthbert #18. Pace of play was a bit slower than expected; we will have to work on helping get this event done a little quicker next year.

With President Dan Webb unable to attend, Michael Kessler your VP stepped up and ran the year end meeting. As a first year VP, Michael did a fantastic job with the meeting by keeping things moving and handling the business and heckling members.

Awards where distributed by Michael Kessler and Tom Condella:

Club Championship A Flight Low Gross - Mike O’Neil (Championship Flight*)
Club Championship B Flight Low Gross - Tom Condella (B Flight*)
Club Championship A Flight Low Net - Doug Bowring (A Flight*)
Club Championship B Flight Low Net - Jim Seamandel (C Flight*)
Tour of the County Co-Champions - Brian Pederson
Tour of the County Co-Champions - Rayfield Johnson
Match Play Champion Championship Flight – Mike O’Neil
Match Play Champion A Flight – Damian Wozniak
Match Play Champion B Flight – Glen Jaeger
Match Play Champion C Flight – Rayfield Johnson
Player of the Year – Brian Pederson   -- P.O.Y. Point System
First Team Most Points Scored – Kenny Collins
Second Team Most Points Scored – Corey Mader & Jeff Camosy

Second Team Trophy was presented to Jack Bruss for the 4th year in a row by John Haeflinger. Congratulations to all the 2nd team players and Captain Jack Bruss. Did I hear some chanting in the background “Five, Five, Five”.

A nomination to retain all the current officers for 2013 was made and voted unanimously to keep the cabinet in place for 2013.


Club championship format for 2012 was recommended to return to the flight format. Discussions will continue next year to resolve.

Recommendation to think about a prepay system for events similar other clubs. Discussions will continue next year to see how that may work.

Tour of the County has dropped Grant and Greenfield in favor of some different courses for 2013 season.

Mike Kessler and Jack Bruss will be securing golf courses for 2013, if you have suggestions please share them.

As a club, everyone felt there was a little improvement with slow play. We still have to work harder to get our rounds closer to 4 hours. Read the Ready Golf Mission Statement.

There are two events remaining this year. Abbey Springs and The Bull

Special Recognition to our PGA Professional ERIC GITTER for all his work in providing his services to the club. OUTSTANDING work Eric! Also, recognition to our new superintendent, MATT SULLIVAN, for all the work in keeping Currie Park Golf Course conditions, with a very difficult summer, in good playing condition.

No comments:

Post a Comment